MARICOPA COUNTY PROTECTIVE SERVICES DIVISION PARKING RULES AND REGULATIONS

Parking will be controlled and accessible to those who have their identification cards programmed for a particular garage. Access into the garage is controlled by a badge reader system. Unassigned parking is available in any area unless designated by official signs. Only authorized individuals will have parking in "24 Hour Reserved, Parking By Permit Only, Carpool, Handicap, or any other official sign."

COUNTY VEHICLES: Whenever possible, please park on the roof.

HANDICAP PARKING: *Phoenix City Code 36-149* states you must display a current disabled insignia or handicap license plate, registered to you, to park legally within a posted handicap parking space.

HOURS OF OPERATION: Please work with your department parking coordinator as each garage has individual hours of operation.

LOST/STOLEN I.D. BADGE OR PERMITS: Contact Protective Services immediately by calling 506-8186.

PARKING FOR OFF-SITE EMPLOYEES: Parking is available at the 5th/6th Avenue surface parking lots. This parking area is directly south of Jefferson Street. For identification purposes please place your business card on the drivers side dashboard of your vehicle.

PARKING VIOLATIONS: Individuals who park improperly, (*no valid parking permit, parked in a handicap space, parked in a no parking area, parked in a reserved or designated space/area, parked in two spaces, blocking driveway or access, back-in parking) will be subject to the following:*

FIRST OFFENSE: Warning Ticket

SECOND OFFENSE: Warning Ticket

THIRD OFFENSE: Thirty (30) day suspension of parking privileges inside

garage.

FOURTH OFFENSE: Six (6) month suspension of parking privileges inside

garage.

RULE VIOLATIONS: Individuals who violate parking rules, (grant access to others, drive through a gate by tailgating another vehicle, damage vehicles or property, litter within the garage) will be subject to the following:

FIRST OFFENSE: Thirty (30) day suspension of parking privileges inside

garage and/or gate replacement fee.

SECOND OFFENSE: Six (6) month suspension of parking privileges inside

garage.

SPEED LIMIT: *Ten (10) miles per hour.* If there is pedestrian traffic, please proceed slowly (*under 10 mph*).

TWENTY-FOUR HOUR RESERVED PARKING: Only Elected Officials and Superior Court Judges permanently assigned downtown will have assigned 24 hour reserved parking. If an individual is parked in your assigned 24 hour reserved space please park in a unassigned parking space or unassigned level and immediately notify your parking coordinator of the violator.

VEHICLE REGISTRATION: All motor vehicles must be registered in the *State of Arizona* to qualify for parking privileges pursuant to *Arizona Revised Statutes*. There however may be certain exceptions to the rule. For details please check with you Department Parking Coordinator. The license plate number of any motor vehicle you drive *must* be registered with the Protective Services office for emergency situations along with an I.D. picture in their security system.

PARKING IN ANY COUNTY OWNED GARAGE IS: AT YOUR OWN RISK.

PARKING IN COUNTY STRUCTURES IS A PRIVILEGE NOT A RIGHT. IF WE CAN ASSIST YOU IN ANY WAY PLEASE CALL (602) 506-8186 OR (602) 506-0995. THANK YOU FOR YOUR COOPERATION.