RELEASE NOTIFICATION GUIDELINES – TIME INTERVALS
L.R.D.  02/17/11
Pursuant to Arizona Rules of Court, Rules of Criminal Procedure – Records and Evidence 28.1, 28.2; Superior Court – Local Rules – Maricopa County 2.8(d), the clerk of the court may return or dispose of exhibits if the record does not show that the action or proceeding is pending, is subject to modification or on appeal in any court.

Pursuant to Arizona Rules of Court, Rules of Criminal Procedure 28.2(c), Items shall be returned to the seizing or acquiring agency for disposition.  Where private possession of the item is not illegal or otherwise prescribed by law, it shall be returned to the legal owner unless the owner’s whereabouts are unknown or the owner is unwilling to accept it.  When such return is not possible, the item shall be sold or otherwise disposed of in the manner prescribed by law.

Notification Guidelines:

· Pursuant to Arizona Rules of Court, Superior Court – Local Rules, Maricopa County, 2.8(d)(1), the clerk shall mail a notice to the attorney(s) of record in the case, or if none, to the parties at their last known address advising them that the attorney or party introducing the exhibit may obtain it from the clerk within sixty (60) days. It shall be the responsibility of the attorney who introduced the exhibit to notify the owner of the exhibit of its availability within ten (10) days.
If the party is represented by counsel and co-counsel from another firm or out-of-state, both firms are notified.
If an Application and Order to Appear Pro Hac Vice has been filed, the attorney of record is considered to be the in-state attorney.  A notice is not mailed to the out-of-state attorney.

Exhibits Clerk:

· Letters to the court must be mailed to the judicial officer; if the judicial officer is not assigned to that calendar or is no longer a sitting Superior Court Judge, mail to the judicial officer presiding over the calendar.

· Attorney or party of record not located

· In the caption of the notification letter, in the field “Counsel”, insert “unable to notify party due to; enter reason – disbarred, suspended, deceased, current address not available in case record.

· Return mail:

· Follow “Exhibits Return Mail” procedures

· Remailed mail:

· Amend the release and disposal date

· Resend the notification

· Pull case from round; relabel entering round number and new disposal date

Notification Time Intervals:
· The Deputy Director has 10 business days to review the initial exhibits release list

· Non-Criminal Release:
· After 5 business days, send notification to parties of record

· 16 calendar days from the date of the notification letter, exhibit(s) may be released to the party of record

· 10 calendar days from the mailing of the notification letter, the party of record must request in writing and include the reason for retention if exhibit(s) are retained

· 60 calendar days from notification to the party of record, exhibit(s) are released or disposed

· Criminal Release:
· Plaintiff’s Notification
· After 5 business days, send notification to the Offices of the State Attorney General and Maricopa County Attorney; County Attorney Executive Division; upon certified mail receipt, the Offices have 10 calendar days to review the exhibits release list

· Upon approval from the Offices of the State Attorney General and Maricopa County Attorney, send notification to the seizing agency; 10 business days from mailing begin scheduling appointments for release of exhibits
· After completing the agency release, send the defendant(s) notification letter
· Defendant’s Notification:
· 16 calendar days from the date of the notification letter, the exhibits may be released to the attorney or party of record

· 10 calendar days from the mailing of the notification letter, the party of record must request in writing and include the reason for retention if exhibit(s) need to be retained

· 60 calendar days from notification to the attorney or party of record, exhibits are released or disposed
